Students and Aspiring Midwives

California Midwifery Programs 

University of California, San Francisco

Program Type: Post-Masters Certificate,

Masters, 3-yr non-nurse to Masters

Degree: CNM, WHNP

UCSF School of Nursing

2 Koret Way, Box 0606

San Francisco, CA 94143

(415) 476-1435

Directors: Kim Q. Dau, CNM, MS 

California State University, Fullerton

Program Type: Masters 

Degree: CNM, WHNP

CSUF School of Nursing 

800 N. State College Blvd. 

P.O.Box 6868 

Fullerton, CA 92834-6868

Director: Angela Sojobi


*For a complete list of CNM and CM programs, please visit the ACNM's list of Midwifery Programs.


Stay up to date on California Nurse-Midwives Association updates and connect with other students in California by joining the California Student Nurse-Midwifery Facebook Group .

Scholarship Opportunities

The Carrington-Hsia-Nieves Doctoral Scholarship for Midwives of Color is a $5,000 scholarship awarded to a certified nurse-midwife or certified midwife of color who is actively enrolled in doctoral or postdoctoral education and a current ACNM member. This award is named in honor of three of our most distinguished midwives of color: Betty Watts Carrington, CNM, Ph.D., FACNM; Lily Hsia, CNM, PNP, MSN, FACNM; and Nivia Nieves Fisch, CNM, FACNM. Funding comes from the A.C.N.M. Foundation's Midwives of Color Scholarship Fund. Apply by September 12, 2021.


Wayachi Seed Grant

The Wayachi Seed Grant is a $5,000 scholarship awarded to an ACNM member. The Project proposals must have a primary focus on meeting the direct needs of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC), with preference to projects that address the Wayachi Fund purposes described on the foundation website. BIPOC/people of color applicants from diverse backgrounds are eligible and encouraged to apply, including midwives (CNM/CM/CPM/LM), students, retirees, community groups, advocates, and other health professionals who work with under-resourced BIPOC/people of color communities. Apply by October 8th, 2021.

Jeanne Raisler International Award for Midwifery

The ACNM Foundation announces the $3500 Jeanne Raisler International Award for Midwifery, a professional development grant that supports midwives to become involved in global midwifery. No past international experience is required. Apply by October 15th, 2021.